Thiruvananthapuram Rural Police is entrusted with the responsibility of maintaining law & order in the rural area of the district, prevention and detection of crime, traffic management and various citizen centric services for the people of Thiruvananthapuram Rural area comprising Neyyattinkara, Nedumangad, Varkala, Kattakada and Attingal subdivisions. Parts of Thiruvananthapuram and Neyyattinkara Taluks and whole of Nedumangad, Chirayinkeezhu, Varkala and Kattakada Taluks consisting of 99 Revenue Villages comes under the jurisdiction of Thiruvananthapuram Rural Police.

Thiruvananthapuram Rural Police falls under Thiruvananthapuram Range which comes under South Zone.

The District Police is headed by a Superintendent of Police of IPS cadre designated as District Police Chief, comprises of Deputy Superintendent of Polices, Inspectors, Sub Inspectors, Assistant Sub Inspectors, Senior Civil Police Officers, Civil Police Officers numbering around 2200 and approximately 35000 cases are handled per annum. In addition to this, there are about 80 ministerial staff who helps the staff officers in various service related matters.

The Police District is divided into Sub Divisions and Police Stations each headed by the Officer of the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police and Circle Inspector/Sub Inspector of Police designated as Station House Officer (SHO) respectively. Special Units/Cells like District Special Branch, Districts Crime Branch, District Crime Records Bureau, Narcotic Cell, Armed Reserve is headed by one officer of the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police. The Women Cell and Cyber Cell is under the supervision of District Crime Branch. All of them helps in maintaining law and order, crime prevention and crime investigation in the police district.


Last updated on Monday 20th of June 2022 PM