0472 - 2856243  


This police station was opened by Sri. Pattom Thanu pillai, the then Chief Minister of Travancore &ndashKochi state on 29-10-1954. Till then it was an outpost of Kattakada Police Station .The out post was upgraded into a charging Police Station vide G.O Rt.27343/54/C The station had been functioning in old building since 1971. Due to the dilapidated condition a new building was constructed by KPHCC and station was shifted in to new building on 09.5.2008. Initially Vithura Police Station was under the Circle limit of Nedumangad and the station had two outposts namely Palode and Ponmudi. Later Palode and Ponmudi outposts were upgraded to charging stations on 03-02-81 and 27-07-88 respectively. For a short period, Peppara was also outpost and it was abolished later.

On 20-03-90 onwards Vithura has been functioning under the circle limit of Palode. The jurisdiction of Vithura Police Station comprises of revenue villages namely Tholikkodu, Vithura and parts of Thennoor. Thus in total Vithura Police Station has an area covering about 53.12 Sq Km and population of about 95000.

The station building is situated near Vithura Junction, adjacent to SH -45 in survey No 942 of Tholikkodu Village under Nedumangad taluk with an extent of 5 acres 37 cents of land .During 1998 ,19 cents of land were handed over to Telecom Department for constructing BSNL office. In the station compound there are 16 quarters situated. Out of them 3 quarters were temporarily handed over to Fire and Rescue department on 29-01-14 for opening new Fire station.

Vithura is a charming and fascinating high range place, attracting many. It has in it thick forests, dams, tea plantations, water falls, snowy dawns and bright dusks. The land has a history of productive agriculture.

The jurisdictional area of Vithura police station comprising villages namely Tholikkodu, Vithura and parts of Thennoor village. Two Panchayats namely Tholikkode and Vithura are come under the jurisdiction.


Last updated on Sunday 19th of June 2022 AM