Vellarada Police Station

0471 - 2242023

Vellarada Police station came into exist on 23.09.1960 by up grading Panachamoode Police Out Post as per GO ( RT) NO 1255 dated 23-09-1960. Initially Vellarada Police station is function in a Government building at Vellarada Grama Panchayat in house No.VP/1X/ 84 in Vellarada village, Survey No. 663/ 38663/05 in 50 cents of land. The present building of the police station was opened on 17.07. 1987 as per GO (RP) 2138/ 87 dated 03.07.1987. Vellarada Police station shared its boundary with Tamil Nadu.

Jurisdiction Details

Vellarada, Amboori and Kunnathukal are the Revenue villages in Vellarada police station limit and the Panchayats are Vellarada, Kunnathukal and Amboori.

Border Police Stations

The boarder Police Stations of Vellarada Police Station are Aryancode, Palukal (Tamilnadu) and Arukani (Tamilnadu).

Parliamentary Constituency and Legislative Assembly

The Vellarada Police Station jurisdiction comes under Thiruvananthapuram parliament constituency and in Parassala Legislative Assembly.

Major Establishments and Institutions


  • CHC Vellarada Anappara
  • Rukkumani Memorial Devi Hospital Ponnambi
  • Dr. SMCSI Medical College Hospital Karakonam
  • PHC Kunnathukal Kattachalvila
  • Daya Homeo Hospital Vellarada
  • Wills Hospital Nilamamoodu
  • White Mission Hospital Panachamoodu
  • Veterinary Hospital Karakonam
  • Veterinary Hospital Vellarada
  • Veterinary Hospital Kunnathukal
  • Govt. Homeo Dispensary Vellarada Vellarada
  • Govt. CHC Kunnathukal Chavadi
  • Good Samaritan Hospital Amboori Poochamukku

Government Institutions

  • Krishi Bhavan Kunnathukal
  • Village Office, Kunnathukal Chavadi
  • Sisukshema Kendram Anappara
  • Panchayath Office Vellarada Panachamoodu
  • Panchayath Office Kunnathukal Karakonam
  • PWD Office Kunnathukal
  • KSEB Chavadi
  • KSEB Vellarada
  • VFPCK Chavadi Kunnathukal
  • Village Office, Vellarada Anappara
  • BSNL Office Kunnathukal
  • BSNL Office Vellarada Kollakkudiyettam
  • Agricultural Office Vellarada Ponnambi
  • Agricultural Office Kunnathukal Karakonam
  • Milk Co-operative Societies at Elluvila, Kunnathukal, Karakonam, Panachamoodu, Vellarada, Kudappanamoodu and Amboori<
  • Village Office Amboori
  • KSEB Amboori
  • Tribal Extension Office Amboori
  • Sub Registrar Office Kunnathukal
  • Sub Registrar Office Vellarada
  • Post Offices at Vellarada, Mannamkonam, Kudayal, Panachamoodu, Amboori, Kunnathukal, Narani and Manali

Educational Institutions

  • LMS LPS Manoor Manoor
  • LPS Mooverikkara Mooverikkara
  • LMS UPS Kottukonam Kottukonam
  • Harijan Welfare LPS Kunnathukal North
  • MNC LPS Kudayal
  • PPM HS Karakonam
  • Govt. UPS Karakonam Karakonam
  • St. Johns HSS Undancode
  • Jayamatha UPS Manoor
  • LMS LPS Anchumaramkala Anchumaramkala
  • AMLPS Kallimoottukani Kallimoodu
  • Govt. UPS Koothali Koothali
  • VPM HSS Vellarada Nellissery
  • RC LPS Kiliyoor Kiliyoor
  • Govt. LPS Vellarada
  • LMS LPS Panachamoodu Panachamoodu
  • Sree Chithira Thirunal Central School Kunnathukal
  • Chithira Thirunal School Kudappanamoodu
  • SM CSI Medical College Karakonam
  • UIT College Vellarada Arattukuzhy
  • St. Marrys LPS Thekkupara
  • St. George LPS Amboori Amboori
  • St. Thomas HSS Amboori Amboori
  • LPS Kovilloor Kovilloor

Banks and Financial Institutions

  • Service Co-operative Bank Kunnathukal
  • Service Co-operative Bank Karikkamancode
  • KSFE Vellarada
  • KSFE Kunnathukal
  • KSFE Amboori
  • Federal Bank Karakonam
  • SBT Kudappanamoodu
  • Kerala Gramin Bank Vellarada
  • Federal Bank Amboori
  • SBT Amboori
  • Service Co-operative Bank Amboori
  • District Co-operative Bank Amboori
  • Service Co-operative Bank Panachamoodu
  • Service Co-operative Bank Vellarada
  • Union Bank Vellarada
  • South Indian Bank Karakonam
  • Canara Bank Kunnathukal

Religious Buildings and Places

  • Christian Pilgrimage Kurisumala
  • Catholic Church Anappara
  • CSI Church Kathippara
  • CSI Church Pannimala
  • CSI Church Anchumaramkala
  • CSI Church Vellarada
  • CSI Church Kallimoodu
  • CSI Church Thettiyara
  • CSI Church Panachamoodu
  • CSI Church Karakonam
  • CSI Church Kunnathukal
  • CSI Church Manoor
  • CSI Church Kottukonam
  • RC Church Elluvila
  • RC Church Undancode
  • RC Church Anchumaramkala
  • RC Church Vellarada
  • RC Church Cheriyakolla
  • RC Church Kunnathukal
  • RC Church Panachamoodu
  • RC Church Karakonam
  • Mosque Panachamoodu
  • Mosque Kudappanamoodu
  • St Johns Church Amboori
  • CSI Church Amboori
  • Kandan Sree Dharma Sastha Temple Andoor
  • Sree Dharma Sastha Temple Kovilloor
  • Sree Dharma Sastha Temple Pachayam
  • Chamundeswari Devi Temple Narani
  • Sree Krishna Swami Temple Maninadu
  • Devi Temple Choondikkal
  • Neelakesi Temple Kunnathukal
  • Parayil Chamundi Temple Panachamoodu
  • Chirathalackal Sree Bhagavathi Temple Arattukuzhy
  • Sree Bhadrakali Temple Kalimala
  • Sree Dharma Sastha Temple Amboori
  • Sree Dharma Sastha Temple Kovilloor

Medical College at Karakonam

Dr. Somervell Memorial CSI Medical College started in 2002, attached to the Dr. Somervell Memorial Mission Hospital is at Karakonam. The Medical College is a self-financing institution affiliated to the University of Kerala.

Kurisumala Church – Kurisumala Pilgrimage

Kurisumala Pilgrimage

Kurisumala is one of the most prominent pilgrim center in South India. It comes in the Vellarada Police Station limit. The word Kurisumala literally means Mount of the Cross. It lies about three thousand feet (more than 900 m) above the sea level on the Western Ghats. The scenic beauty and serenity make this mount most suited for prayer meditation and God experience. It is 52 kilometers away from the Thiruvananthapuram City.


The main roads in this jurisdiction are

  • Vellarada- Neyyattinkara
  • Vellarada- Kattakada
  • Vellarada- Amboori
  • Vellarada- Parassala
  • Vellarada- Netta

Main Cultivation

Vellarada is said to be the threshold to the high range areas of eastern part of Thiruvananthapuram District. The main cultivation in this area are Rubber.

Accident Prone Areass

Panachamoodu - Paravalavu, Kunnathukal - Karakonam Churuli valavu

Main Projects through the Police Station

Clean Campus Safe Campus

Schools involved in Clean Campus Safe Campus Programme are listed below

  • St. Johns Higher Secondary School Undancode
  • St. Thomas HS Amboori
  • Karakonam Medical College
  • PRS Engineering College, Paliyode
  • PPMHS Karakkonam
  • VPMHS Vellarada
  • St. Thomas HS Amboori
  • Sankara Vidhyalayam Vellarada
  • Noorul Huda Public School,Panachamoodu
  • Sree Chithirathirunanal Residential Higher secondary School,Kunnathukal